Features

  • X-Mas Contemporary24 Weihnachtslieder des 21. Jahrhunderts Streaming CD
    Release 1

Aktuell

  • Dietrich Henschel – Irrsal

    IRRSAL / FORBIDDEN PRAYERS – Triptych of illicit love

    film directed by CLARA PONS
    performed with live music
    music: HUGO WOLF/Mörike-Lieder, Lieder aus dem Spanischen Liederbuch
    starring DIETRICH HENSCHEL, VIVIENNE KAAROW, ULRIKE KÖSTINGER, WOLFGANG BANKL, JOSEF KLIEMSTEIN

    website

Henschel capitalized on his charismatic stage presence and his effortless technique enabled him to fully exploit the playful nature of the music, which the audience ate up. Bachtrack

Biography

“Baritone Dietrich Henschel is a towering figure, physically, intellectually, musically and theatrically. His prowess as an interpreter, by which I mean precisely his ability to get below the surface of a song and right into its soul, is extraordinary.” Herald Scotland

Baritone Dietrich Henschel captivates audiences as a regular guest at major opera houses, an esteemed interpreter of lieder and oratorios as well as with his multimedia projects. His repertoire stretches from Monteverdi to the avant-garde. Born in Berlin and having grown up in Nuremberg, he made his debut in 1990 at the Munich Biennale for New Music and first became known internationally from 1997, following a period as an ensemble member of the Opera Kiel. At the Deutsche Oper Berlin he took the title role in Hans Werner Henze’s Prinz von Homburg, staged by Götz Friedrich, and gave an outstanding lead performance in Busoni’s Doktor Faust at the Opéra de Lyon and the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, for which he won a Grammy.

The singer’s major roles include Rossini’s Figaro, Wolfram in Wagner’s Tannhäuser, Monteverdi’s Ulisse and Orfeo, Mozart’s Don Giovanni, Beckmesser in Wagner’s Die Meistersingervon Nürnberg, Alban Berg’s Wozzeckand Dr. Schön in Lulu, Golaud in Debussy’s Pelléas et Mélisande and Nick Shadow in Stravinsky’s The Rake’s Progress, with which he makes regular appearances at the major European opera houses. Contemporary composers such as Péter Eötvös, Detlev Glanert, Manfred Trojahn, Unsuk Chin, Peter Ruzicka and José-Maria Sanchez-Verdu have all dedicated leading roles in their operas to the baritone.

In addition to his operatic work, Dietrich Henschel is committed to the performance of lieder and concert works for voice. In orchestral concerts he has worked with conductors such as Riccardo Chailly, Kent Nagano, Cornelius Meister, Sylvain Cambreling and Semyon Bychkov. His collaborations with John Eliot Gardiner, Philippe Herreweghe, Nikolaus Harnoncourt and Colin Davis are documented on numerous oratorio recordings. Dietrich Henschel is particularly interested in theatrical and multimedia presentations of vocal music. He has performed staged versions of Schubert lieder cycles at La Monnaie, Theater an der Wien, Den Norske Opera Oslo and the Komische Oper Berlin, among others. In the project IRRSAL – Triptychon einer verbotenen Liebe, featuring the orchestral songs of Hugo Wolf, he combined film and live concert; his project featuring songs by Gustav Mahler, WUNDERHORN, was a collaboration with director Clara Pons, and was developed as a co-production between several European partners including De Doelen, La Monnaie and the BBC Symphony Orchestra London.

Last season, Dietrich Henschel presented a varied repertoire: in addition to playing the Speaker of the Temple in Zauberflöte at La Monnaie staged by Romeo Castellucci, he reprised the title role in Peter Ruzicka’s opera Benjaminat the Hamburg State Opera and played Martin Luther in the world premiere of Bo Holten’s opera Schlagt sie tot! in Malmö. He also performed at the Suntory Hall Tokyo, singing Schönberg’s Gurrelieder with the Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra under Sylvain Cambreling, and at the Berlin Philharmonic for Haydn’s Jahreszeiten with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin under Vladimir Jurowski.

In the 2019/20 season, Dietrich Henschel will be guesting at the Deutsche Oper Berlin in Chaya Czernowin’s world premiere Heart Chamber and taking on the role of Faninal in Damiano Michieletto’s new production of Strauss’s Der Rosenkavalier at La Monnaie/De Munt in Brussels. In addition, his Christmas project X-mas Contemporary, created in collaboration with Vladimir Jurowski and the ensembleUnited, will be performed for the first time in the Konzerthaus Berlin and in Düsseldorf, with songs written for him in the spirit of the Christmas season. Further guest performances include Brahms’ Requiem under Kazushi Ono in Barcelona, the Schubert Festival with the Orchester Symphonique Montréal in Canada, Beethoven’s 9th Symphony with RTVE in Madrid, and Mahler’s Kindertotenlieder in Tokyo paired with a recital tour of Japan, where his new recording of Schubert’s Die schöne Müllerin will be presented.

Download press kit

Gallery

Projects

  • Heart Chamber

    Opera by CHAYA CZERNOWIN
    Deutsche Oper Berlin
    CLAUS GUTH, Director, JOHANNES KALITZKE, Conductor
    Starring DIETRICH HENSCHEL, PATRIZIA CIOFI

    Trailer

  • Wunderhorn

    feature film dircted by CLARA PONS
    performed with live music
    music: GUSTAV MAHLER/Lieder aus "Des Knaben Wunderhorn"
    starring DIETRICH HENSCHEL, VERA STREICHER, SÉBASTIAN DUTRIEUX, ELIAS FRET

    website

  • Dietrich Henschel – Irrsal

    IRRSAL / FORBIDDEN PRAYERS - Triptych of illicit love

    film directed by CLARA PONS
    performed with live music
    music: HUGO WOLF/Mörike-Lieder, Lieder aus dem Spanischen Liederbuch
    starring DIETRICH HENSCHEL, VIVIENNE KAAROW, ULRIKE KÖSTINGER, WOLFGANG BANKL, JOSEF KLIEMSTEIN

    website

Videos

Recordings

Contact

  • General Management

    Karsten Witt Musik Management GmbH
    Kerstin Alt
    Leuschnerdamm 13, D-10999 Berlin

    T +49 30 214 594 235
    M +49 30 214 594 101

    ka@karstenwitt.com
    www.karstenwitt.com

  • FR/ES/Benelux

    Biam Artists
    Marc Mazy
    C/ Ortega y Gasset 19, 2º izq
    E 28006 Madrid
    T +34 91 4459900
    F +34 91 4457790
    marc.mazy@biamartists.com

  • UK

    Caroline Phillips
    Director
    Caroline Phillips Management
    T +44 (0) 1249 716 716
    M +44 (0) 7905 226 887
    www.caroline-phillips.co.uk

  • JAPAN

    Opus One Co., Ltd.
    Akihito Mikuni
    1-14-39 Aoba-cho, Higashi-murayama City,
    Tokyo 189-0002 Japan
    T +81 (0)42 313 3213
    F +81 (0)42 313 3256
    info@opus-one.jp
    www.opus-one.jp

Features

  • X-Mas Contemporary24 Weihnachtslieder des 21. Jahrhunderts Streaming CD
    Release 1

Aktuell

  • Dietrich Henschel – Irrsal

    IRRSAL/Triptychon einer verbotenen Liebe

    Spielfilm-Triptychon von CLARA PONS
    Aufführung im Live-Konzert
    Musik: HUGO WOLF/Mörike-Lieder, Lieder aus dem Spanischen Liederbuch
    Mit DIETRICH HENSCHEL, VIVIENNE KAAROW, ULRIKE KÖSTINGER, WOLFGANG BANKL, JOSEF KLIEMSTEIN

    zur Webseite

Henschel capitalized on his charismatic stage presence and his effortless technique enabled him to fully exploit the playful nature of the music, which the audience ate up. Bachtrack

Biografie

„Der Bariton Dietrich Henschel ist eine Lichtgestalt – körperlich, intellektuell, musikalisch und schauspielerisch. Sein Vermögen als Interpret, womit ich gerade seine Fähigkeit meine, unter die Oberfläche eines Liedes und direkt in dessen Seele vorzudringen, ist außerordentlich.“ Herald Scotland

Als regelmäßiger Gast auf den großen Opernbühnen, als geschätzter Interpret von Lied und Oratorium und bei seinen multimedialen Projekten fasziniert der Bariton Dietrich Henschel weltweit das Publikum mit einem Repertoire, das von Monteverdi bis zur Avantgarde reicht. Der gebürtige Berliner, der in Nürnberg aufwuchs und 1990 bei der Münchner Biennale für neue Musik debütierte, wurde nach einer ersten Station als Ensemblemitglied an der Oper Kiel ab 1997 international bekannt: An der Deutschen Oper Berlin sang er die Titelpartie in Henzes Prinz von Homburg, inszeniert von Götz Friedrich, und in Busonis Doktor Faust brillierte er an der Opéra de Lyon und am Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris. Für die Interpretation der Titelpartie in dieser Produktion wurde er mit einem Grammy ausgezeichnet

In Rollen wie Rossinis Figaro, Wolfram in Wagners Tannhäuser, Monteverdis Ulisse und Orfeo, Mozarts Don Giovanni, Beckmesser in Wagners Die Meistersingervon Nürnberg, Alban Bergs Wozzek und Dr. Schön in Lulu, Golaud in Debussys Pelléas et Mélisande und Nick Shadow in Strawinskys The Rake’s Progress war und ist Dietrich Henschel seitdem an den großen Opernhäusern Europas zu Gast. Zeitgenössische Komponisten wie Péter Eötvös, Detlev Glanert, Manfred Trojahn, Unsuk Chin, Peter Ruzicka und José-Maria Sanchez-Verdu vertrauten ihm Hauptpartien in ihren Opern zur Uraufführung an.

Daneben widmet sich Dietrich Henschel intensiv dem Lied- und Konzertgesang. In Orchesterkonzerten arbeitete er mit Dirigenten wie Riccardo Chailly, Kent Nagano, Sylvain Cambreling, Cornelius Meister und Semjon Byschkoff. Seine Zusammenarbeit mit John Eliot Gardiner, Philippe Herreweghe, Nikolaus Harnoncourt oder Colin Davis ist auf einer Vielzahl von Oratorien-Aufnahmen dokumentiert. Ein besonderes Augenmerk widmet Dietrich Henschel der theatralischen und multimedialen Darstellung von vokaler Musik. Szenische Versionen von Schubert-Liedzyklen wurden unter anderem am Opernhaus La Monnaie, am Theater an der Wien, an der Norske Opera Oslo und an der Komischen Oper Berlin aufgeführt. In dem gemeinsam mit der Regisseurin Clara Pons konzipierten Filmprojekt IRRSAL – Triptychon einer verbotenen Liebe mit den Mörike-Orchesterliedern Hugo Wolfs kombiniert er Spielfilm und Live-Konzert. Sein ebenfalls mit Clara Pons entwickeltes Filmprojekt WUNDERHORN zu den Liedern Gustav Mahlers entstand als Koproduktion mehrerer europäischer Partner, darunter De Doelen, La Monnaie und BBC Symphony Orchestra London.

In der vergangenen Saison präsentierte sich Dietrich Henschel mit vielfältigem Repertoire: Außer als Sprecher in der von Romeo Castellucci inszenierten Zauberflöte am Opernhaus La Monnaie konnte man ihn als Titelheld in Peter Ruzickas Oper Benjamin an der Staatsoper Hamburg und als Martin Luther in der Uraufführung von Bo Holtens Oper Schlagt sie tot! in Malmö erleben. Daneben führten ihn Konzerte an die Suntory Hall Tokio, wo er Schönbergs Gurrelieder mit dem Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra unter Sylvain Cambreling interpretierte, sowie an die Philharmonie Berlin für Haydns Jahreszeiten mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin und Vladimir Jurowski.

In der Saison 2019/20 ist Dietrich Henschel an der Deutschen Oper Berlin in der Uraufführung von Chaya Czernowins Oper Heart Chamber zu Gast und er übernimmt die Rolle des Faninal in Damiano Michielettos Neuinszenierung von Strauss’ Der Rosenkavalier am La Monnaie/De Munt in Brüssel. Daneben wird sein mit Vladimir Jurowski und dem ensembleUnited konzipiertes Weihnachtsprojekt X-mas Contemporary mit für ihn geschriebenen, das Weihnachtsfest neu reflektierenden Liedern im Konzerthaus Berlin und in Düsseldorf erstmals aufgeführt. Weitere Gastspiele führen ihn mit Brahms’ Requiem unter Kazushi Ono nach Barcelona, zum Schubert Fest des Orchestre Symphonique Montréal nach Kanada, mit Beethovens 9. Sinfonie zum RTVE nach Madrid und mit Mahlers Kindertotenliedern nach Tokio, gepaart mit einer Rezitaltournee durch Japan, wo er seine neue Aufnahme von Schuberts Die schöne Müllerin präsentieren wird.

Pressemappe herunterladen

Galerie

Projekte

  • Heart Chamber

    Opera von CHAYA CZERNOWIN
    Deutsche Oper Berlin
    CLAUS GUTH, Regie, JOHANNES KALITZKE, Dirigent
    Mit DIETRICH HENSCHEL, PATRIZIA CIOFI

    Trailer

  • Wunderhorn

    Spielfilm von CLARA PONS
    Aufführung im Live-Konzert
    Musik: GUSTAV MAHLER/Lieder aus "Des Knaben Wunderhorn"
    Mit DIETRICH HENSCHEL, VERA STREICHER, SÉBASTIAN DUTRIEUX, ELIAS FRET

    zur Webseite

  • Dietrich Henschel – Irrsal

    IRRSAL/Triptychon einer verbotenen Liebe

    Spielfilm-Triptychon von CLARA PONS
    Aufführung im Live-Konzert
    Musik: HUGO WOLF/Mörike-Lieder, Lieder aus dem Spanischen Liederbuch
    Mit DIETRICH HENSCHEL, VIVIENNE KAAROW, ULRIKE KÖSTINGER, WOLFGANG BANKL, JOSEF KLIEMSTEIN

    zur Webseite

Videos

Aufnahmen

Kontakt

  • General Management

    Karsten Witt Musik Management GmbH
    Kerstin Alt
    Leuschnerdamm 13, D-10999 Berlin

    T +49 30 214 594 235
    M +49 30 214 594 101

    ka@karstenwitt.com
    www.karstenwitt.com

  • FR/ES/Benelux

    Biam Artists
    Marc Mazy
    C/ Ortega y Gasset 19, 2º izq
    E 28006 Madrid
    T +34 91 4459900
    F +34 91 4457790
    marc.mazy@biamartists.com

  • UK

    Caroline Phillips
    Director
    Caroline Phillips Management
    T +44 (0) 1249 716 716
    M +44 (0) 7905 226 887
    www.caroline-phillips.co.uk

  • JAPAN

    Opus One Co., Ltd.
    Akihito Mikuni
    1-14-39 Aoba-cho, Higashi-murayama City,
    Tokyo 189-0002 Japan
    T +81 (0)42 313 3213
    F +81 (0)42 313 3256
    info@opus-one.jp
    www.opus-one.jp